Shopping Cart: 0 item(s) - 0.00€

Tangerine Dream is a German electronic music band founded in 1967 by Edgar Froese.
The group has seen many personnel changes over the years, with Froese having been
the only continuous member until his death in January 2015. The best-known lineup
of the group was its mid-1970s trio of Froese, Christopher Franke, and Peter Baumann.
In 1979, Johannes Schmoelling replaced Baumann. Since Froese's death in 2015,
the group has been under the leadership of Thorsten Quaeschning (Froese's chosen
successor and the current longest-serving band member, having joined in 2005).
He was joined by violinist Hoshiko Yamane in 2011, Ulrich Schnauss in 2014 and
Paul Frick in 2020.
Tangerine Dream are considered a pioneering act in electronica.Their work with
the electronic music Ohr label produced albums that had a pivotal role in the
development of the German musical scene known as kosmische ("cosmic").
Their "Virgin Years", so called because of their association with Virgin Records,
produced albums that further explored synthesizers and sequencers, including the UK
top 20 albums Phaedra (1974) and Rubycon (1975). The group also had a successful
career composing film soundtracks, creating over 60 scores.
From the late 1990s into the 2000s, Tangerine Dream continued to explore other styles
of instrumental music as well as electronica. Their recorded output has been prolific,
including over one hundred albums. Among other scoring projects, they helped create
the soundtrack for the video game Grand Theft Auto V. Their mid-1970s work has been
profoundly influential in the development of electronic music styles such as new-age
and electronic dance music.
On 29 September 2017, the band released an all-new music studio album entitled
Quantum Gate. In December 2019, they released Recurring Dreams, a compilation of new
recordings of some of the band's classic compositions. On 26 November 2021, the band
(whose line-up include Thorsten Quaeschning, Hoshiko Yamane and Paul Frick) released
an EP entitled Probe 6–8 (including three tracks: "Raum", "Para Gu" and "Continuum")
whose concept was developed further on their following album Raum, their latest
studio album to date which was released on 25 February 2022.

Sort By: